Monday, August 16, 2010

Compilation of the Week: Coca-Cola Pop Music New Music Sampler: Alternative

Up next is the "Coca-Cola Pop Music New Music Sampler: Alternative" edition. This was a cassette issued as a summer promotion back in 1991 by the Coca-Cola company. This cassette features artists on the Columbia and Epic record labels, hence Front 242's inclusion. Different cassettes were issued for Dance, Rock, Pop, and Alternative. The inclusion of Rhythm of Time is a nice one. Usually Epic promos of this era only showcased Tragedy >For You<.
This cassette has the catalogue number CAT 4033. It is fairly common today and can be had for around $5.00 or less.
Where else could you hear Front alongside Toad the Wet Sprocket and Big Audio Dynamite?

The track list is as follows:

  1. Front 242:  "Rhythm of Time"
  2. Peter Himmelman:  "Impermanent Things"
  3. Mind Funk:  "Sugar Ain't So Sweet"
  4. Screaming Trees:  "Bed of Roses"
  5. The Godfathers:  "Unreal World"
  6. Chris Whitley:  "Living With The Law"
  7. Toad the Wet Sprocket:  "Walk On The Ocean"
  8. Bid Audio Dynamite II:  "Rush"
  9. Shawn Colvin:  "Shotgun Down The Avalanche"
  10. Darling Buds:  "It Makes No Difference"

Side A featuring "Rhythm of Time"

Side 1


  1. I remember I liked a lot a music from Big Audio Dynamite called E=MC2. Now I'm playing this track. Thanks for posting this compilations. Nice to remember the 90's !

  2. Thanks for posting this, I had this tape back in 1991 and wore it out, a lot of good stuff on there. I had found a few tracks over the years but had been looking for a complete track list to hunt down the ones I was missing so this is perfect.